Surname Saturday – Tracy Family

John Edward Tracy Family

This is the first “Surname Saturday”  post I have done so I thought I would begin with the Surname I have spent the most time researching.  The Tracy family.  My branch of the Tracy family lived predominantly in the York, Nebraska area from 1874-now.  John Edward Tracy was my first Tracy ancestor to move to Nebraska.  He had previously farmed in McLean County, Illinois with his wife Maria Boblett Tracy and young family. Before that he had grown up and married in the Ross County, Ohio area. He was the seventh child of Joshua and Rachel Dilworth Tracy both born in Harford County (Anne Arundel) area of Maryland.  Joshua had served in the war of 1812 and was granted the land in Ohio for his service.  Joshua was a son of Benjamin Tracy Jr who was a son of Benjamin Tracy who was a son of Tego Tracy, son of Teague Tracy Jr, son of Teague Tracy.  The first Teague Tracy was born in England 1650 and came to this area of Maryland around 1679.  They were one of the first families of Maryland.

John Edward Tracy

My great great grandfather, John Edward Tracy received a land grant in York County, Nebraska for the purpose of planting trees in 1875.  Over the years the family bought 5 more sections of land.  That farm was in our family until my grandmother passed away in 1998.  A small portion of the original land is still owned by a Tracy.  John Edward had seven children, several of whom married and moved further west.  His son John Wesley, my great grandfather bought the farm from his siblings after the death of his father.  He married Maria Rusler (her parents immigrated from Germany). and they had five surviving children.  Two of his daughters, Olive Nelson and Mary White and  eventually one of his sons Ivan, moved to the Pacific Northwest and his youngest son, Everett, moved his family to Louisiana.  My grandmother, Mabel, received the homestead portion of the farm and my grandpa, Leo Gotcher, farmed it until his death.  The oldest brother, Bryce, also continued farming his portion of the land until he retired.

John Wesley Tracy Family

I love the stories of my Tracy ancestors.  Someday I hope to find the connection across the pond.  Where was Teague born?  Who were his parents?  etc.  I have traced most of my ancestors back to their immigration to this country but now I need to turn my research towards their country of origin.  If you have more information about the Tracy family, or perhaps know where a branch of Joshua Tracy or John E Tracy’s family ended up please let me know.

Tracy Farm 1981

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Tracy Family Research and Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

