Children of Joseph and Margaret Rusler

Children of Joseph and Margaret Rusler

(Joseph’s 2nd wife)

I have to preface this post with  a description of my research process.  I was working on writing this post and started with Mary Susan who I really didn’t have much information about.  I had searched before for marriage and or death records with no luck so I wrote a few sentences to that effect and moved on to Anna.  While looking for Anna’s marriage record last night on the Illinois Marriage index I couldn’t find it by her last name as Rusler can be spelled and mis-pelled a myriad of different ways but I knew her husband’s name so I started a search with his name and surprise surprise it turns out he was married twice in Ogle County, Illinois to both sisters.  To Mary Susan in 1878 and Anna in 1881.  I still haven’t found any death records for Mary Susan but I now know who and when she married and that she died before 1881 without children.  These surprise finds are one of the many reasons I love this hobby!

Mary Susan Rusler was born 1855 in Ogle County, Illinois.  She married William Ehmann, son of Franz and Katharina, February 19,1878 in Ogle County, Illinois.  She died before 1881.

Anne Rusler Ehman was born November 9,1857 in Oregon, Ogle County, Illinois.  She married William Ehmann, her sister’s widower, on November 8,1881 in Ogle County, Illinois.  They had two children, George J (1882) and Margaret (1887).  William died before 1900.  Anne died December 4,1931 in Chicago, Illinois but was buried in St. Mary’s Cemetery in Ogle County, Illinois.

Daniel P. Rusler was born August 1859 in Ogle County, Illinois.  He married Janett in 1893 and they had at least two children.  Elsie (1896) and Daniel E (1901-1905).  Daniel moved his family to Canada in 1911.  They crossed the border at the North Portal, Saskatchewan March 12, 1911.  We know he was still alive and living in Canada in 1931 as his brother Charles left him $4,000.

George, Emma and grandson George Rusler

George Rusler was born in July, 1862 in Ogle County, Illinois.  In 1880 he was a boarder and Harness Maker’s apprentice in Ashton, Lee, Illinois.  He married Emma Robinson, October 12, 1887. She was born February 1864. Their son George William was born in 1897 in Lawrence County, Missouri.  By 1910 they were in Kiowa County, Oklahoma.  George had a land patent for 160 acres in Kiowa county which he tried farming.  But by 1920 he was a harness maker in Oklahoma City.  In 1930 he was real estate agent and Emma was an apartment manager in Oklahoma City.  His brother, Charles, in his will forgave all debts and mortgages of his brother George in Oklahoma City.  So in 1931 he was still in OKC and was indebted to his brother. They were living in San Diego, California in 1934. I haven’t found their death records yet.

Sources: 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 census Ancestry.com, findagrave.com, History of York 1921, Charles Rusler’s Will,  Illinois Marriage Index, http://www.glorecords.blm.gov
About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Rusler, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Children of Joseph and Margaret Rusler

  1. Cerelle says:

    I am delighted to find this blog as I have been working on this branch of my family! My cousin, Marguerite Clara Creamer married George William Rusler, son of George J Rusler, about whom you speak in this entry. I have a family tree with photos if you are interested..so just contact me..and Happy to Meet you! Cerelle

    • Rosanna Ward says:

      Thanks for that I will look for them. I would love to see your tree and photos – are you on ancestry – are you arizonaallez? If so I found your comment tonight about my blog. Thanks for recommending it. I am still working on the Ruslers – I didn’t hear many stories about them growing up so I am having to start from scratch so to speak.
      Rosanna

      • Cerelle Bolon says:

        Yes, I am arizonaallez..and have since found, I think, more about George J Rusler’s wife, Emma Robinson. She was hard to track but as her father was born in NY and her mother in Canada..I think that I have found her.
        Best to you,
        Cerelle
        PS, if you want my ancestry tree, please write to me on Ancestry.com.

  2. Cerelle Bolon says:

    I just tonight found the burial records of George J. Rusler and Emma. You can find them on Find a Grave at these memorial numbers. George 102481312 and Emma 102481394
    Cerelle

Leave a Reply

