Sorting Saturday – iPhoto faces

I have recently been moving all of my genealogy pictures to my laptop iphoto program.  Over the years I have somehow duplicated many of my pictures and they aren’t really in very good order, nor do they all have good titles, etc…  Last summer I made slideshows for the reunion and it was much harder and took much longer than it could have been.

Iphoto has this “face” tagging system that I am trying to make you of. I have sorted all of my picture out by family group and now I am going through deleting duplicates, titling, and tagging each one.  As there are over 6,ooo right now I is going to be a long process.  But the hope is that when I am done I will be able to easily make slideshows, find pictures for the blog, attach them to ancestry, etc…

The funny thing about tagging family with iphoto is that it tries to guess the person after awhile and the people it chooses are sometimes very funny.  I have to look closer to find the resemblance but it usually there.  A couple time it even mistook my sister for me and I don’t think we look much alike.  It really gets this confused with baby pictures.  I think this is a fun aspect of an otherwise tedious chore.  Of course I am also able to get more familiar with each picture which is helpful in remembering them later.

Last week I wrote about how important it was to digitize old photos and that is the first step.  The next step, also very important, is to sort them and definitely title them!  You don’t want some descendant deleting pictures because they have no idea who is in the photo or why you kept it.  Just like the importance of writing a description on the back of the picture has always been, so too is it to now title and tag your digital pictures.

Along with my digital picture sorting project I am also integrating jpeg source files.  I keep them in a separate event album but Title them to the person they are about so that when I research or write about that person I can use the find feature and not only see all the pictures they are in but also all the source documents I have on them.  I have had several relatives ask me for copies of documents and this will make it easier to make CDs  for those that want information – Pictures and sources together.

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorting Saturday – iPhoto faces

  1. Did you know that you shouldn’t save photographs as jpegs? They are lossy files. They degrade over time and every time you open the file. It is better for conservation if you save as tiffs or other lossless formats.

  2. Great article Rosanna.

    I’m about to challenge myself to sort out all my photographs – i don’t know how many there are – but it’ll keep me out of trouble for a few month’s worth of on-off tagging, renaming, and re-scanning.

Leave a Reply

