Visiting Alice – Motivation Monday

Alice with her Siblings - Alice is 2nd on Left

Alice with her Siblings – Alice is 2nd on Left

Last week I had the privilege of traveling to Colorado and visiting with Alice.  She is my grandma’s first cousin and was born in 1920.  Her dad, Charles Edward Tracy, was my great grandfather, John Wesley Tracy’s, younger brother.  Alice was a genealogist before internet research and she had a treasure trove of records and pictures to share with me.  She has boxes of binders and boxes of books just full of research that she has worked on over the last countless years.  Before you could get online and just type in your search terms in a Genealogy Search Engine like Ancestry.com you had to write letters to relatives, courthouses, genealogy societies, libraries, etc..and ask for information.  You had to know exactly what you were looking for.  Or, many times you had to drive to those places and dig through records yourself.  Most of them weren’t indexed or even in great order.  I really realized how much easier it is now with so many records not only digitized but also indexed and sounded.  I can do so much of my research from the comfort of my own home.  But on the flip side, through her hard, patient work,  Alice has a large collection of old letters, photographs, telegrams, birth and death certificates, and more.  Genealogists like myself consider these real treasures.

Alice's baby pictures

Alice’s baby pictures

I thoroughly enjoyed swapping stories with Alice and I can tell that, like me, she was very happy to have someone to talk family history with that understood the fascination with our ancestors.  It was just so crazy to think through the steps every time she would tell a story that started with something like, “Aunt May”  and I had to realize that was my great grandmother May.   She spent time at the farm and met all the “cousins” who were really my grandma Mabel’s siblings or cousins as well.  I didn’t get near enough time to ask all that I wanted to ask and it really made me miss my grandma so much.  There are so many stories that I missed because I was too busy as a kid to really listen or pay attention when Grandma wanted to tell them to me.

Sara, Judy, Alice (sitting) Tara (behind), and Rosanna (me)

Sara, Judy, Alice (sitting) Tara (behind), and Rosanna (me)

One evening we ate dinner with her daughters, granddaughter (Tara), and Sara, another “cousin” (3rd once removed) who lives in the area and whom I had invited to join us.  I enjoyed meeting such extended family.  I worked quite a bit with Tara that week as she has the privilege of “housing” all of her grandmother’s treasure.  She let me rummage through, scan and copy to my heart’s content and I helped her organize and explain her grandma’s system, hopefully.

Best of all I came home with new energy, and fresh direction.  I now have most of the information I need to start writing about the John Edward Tracy family and I am ready to jump in.

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Tracy Family Research and Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Visiting Alice – Motivation Monday

  1. Jackie Alleman says:

    Thank you so much for all your work. You and Alice are a wonderful blessing to our family. Is there something I can do to help?Jackie Alleman, daughter of Wayne Tracy, son of Ivan Westley Tracy. Date: Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:27:08 +0000 To: jalleman6@hotmail.com

  2. Nancy Beach says:

    I’m glad to see you are still working on your family genealogy. Or should I say your families? Keep up the good work!

    Nancy Beach
    York County Historical (NE)

    • Rosanna Ward says:

      Thank you Nancy! I found a picture of a lady while we were looking through Alice’s. The back says her name (which I can’t remember at the moment) and it says she was Charles Tracy’s first teacher. I will email you a copy of it. Also a tornado picture and the people looking on are in their church clothes like it happened while they were in church? I think it said Bradshaw but I will have to look again. Thought you would be interested in those.

Leave a Reply

