Amanuensis Monday – Rachel Rosanna Tracy Weeks

c060a807-8d58-454d-aa1d-50a9c71f6dd2 Aunt Ray, as my grandma always called her, is one of my favorite ancestors.  Her legacy is clear in my life.  It is from her, through my grandma, that I have my name.  She was a schoolteacher in a one room school as was my grandma.  I always dreamed of being a one room school teacher and believe I have achieved that to a degree as a Homeschool mom.  And she first owned the school bell which is the centerpiece of my bell collection, again through my grandma.

Recently, during my research at Alice’s, I came upon a letter that Aunt Ray wrote to her mother on the occasion of her mother’s second marriage.   It gives an interesting perspective on the marriage and I am sharing it here for Amanuensis Monday.

09de3078-6e20-4f6c-a3bb-bce1b297197b5d615668-ad7a-4ecc-bd00-972c5cd7470fMother,

We understand in a roundabout way that you are married, despite your promises to me the evening of May 19, when I had that long talk with you.

Mother we can’t understand why you have treated us children in this way, in not telling us of this affair.  I know of no child that has objected to your marrying, providing you got a respectable man, one who would not be a disgrace to us or that you would have to support.  All the objections we have had to your doing this act was in marrying this North York man.  We certainly had good reasons for that.  Why don’t you come to see us as you have others.  You know we can’t get away now these busy times.  Oh! mother, mother, I can’t understand you.  Why have you and why will you treat us thus.  I don’t intend to do or say anything to you but what your husband should know, so please show him this letter.  I have a copy of it.

Ray R Weeks

July 16, 1900

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Tracy Family Research and Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

