January Organization Goal – Suggestions?

December around here is so busy I don’t have much time for hobbies.  Our family is busy making memories which I try to capture in pictures for future generations.  We have some great family traditions – like our annual cookie baking which we have done as a family for the last 18 years.  But already I am looking forward to January when life will slip back into a routine and I can spend time researching and hopefully writing family history.  January is my time to organize things, including my research.  I go through my files, pictures, and websites and try to organize them and see what records I am still missing.  I create a to do list from that.  This year I am determined to create a bookmark list of websites I use for my research so I don’t have to keep searching for “that site” I just used.

With that in mind, does anyone have any suggestions as to some sites I should check out?  Also, what kind of organizational system do you use for your research?  I currently use a file system along with Ancestry.com and Family Tree Maker for Mac.  And I am wondering, other than writing a family history book what are some other ways genealogists have presented their research and stories to family and the general public?

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Organization. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

