“Hey, America, Your Roots Are Showing”, my review

About a month ago I preordered Megan Smolenyak’s new book, “Hey, America, Your Roots Are Showing” from Amazon.com.  It came in the mail last Thursday and I immediately started reading it.  Between the toddler, the puppy, and the kitten I don’t get alot of time to sit and read lately and I must confess I have at least six books started and not finished which is so unlike me.  But I was super excited about reading this book.  I read the whole thing by Friday afternoon and I must say it was delightful!  Not only is Mrs. Smolenyak excellent in the field of genealogy research but she pairs that with representing it well.  She makes it interesting both on TV through the many shows she has researched for and been on like, “Who Do You Think You Are?” and through books like this one.

It is definitely a book I will keep and read again and much like Buzzy Jackson’s, “Shaking the Family Tree”,  she writes in an informal way that makes you feel like you too can be a good genealogist. Where I felt Buzzy and I could be friends, I think Megan is more of my genealogy mentor.  She is never condescending and although I know that I will never match her expertise in the field she affirms that what genealogists do is important not just for our family legacy but for America.  She writes about DNA testing in such a way that I finally understand the importance of it to a genealogist and I can’t wait to get my DNA test results back from ancestry.com and send off for my husbands.

“Hey, America, Your Roots Are Showing” definitely motivated me to keep going and taught me new ways to branch out and get past brick walls.   I am a genealogy detective who brings family and American history to life.  Thank you Megan Smolenyak!

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Website and Research Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Hey, America, Your Roots Are Showing”, my review

  1. You can get DNA results from ancestry.com? I want mine!

  2. Oops, hit done instead of return I look forward to hearing about more discoveries from your genealogy detective work from the new tips you have learned!

Leave a Reply

