‘Life’s a Journey’ Family Stories – Bestest Friends

I have never been the girl with a group of friends all hanging out together. I usually have a few close friends and hang out one on one. I have several friends I have kept in contact with since childhood. But there is one friend, my best friend, who is more like a sister.

Deb and me

Debi and I met the summer of 1990. We were both working as waittresses at a local family restaurant. She was a year older and more worldly wise. I was very naive. We became immediate friends. She introduced me to Country Dancing. I learned so much that summer and had so much fun. She really helped me become confident in who I was.

In the fall she went into the Army reserves and left for basic training. When she came back in February we immediately connected again. We had a great spring and summer. Debi and I worked together and had fun together. In the fall she went into the active military and left for the east coast – never to move home again. We keep in contact via phone and text (she is not an internet attached person like I am). And every time she comes home to visit it is like no time has passed at all. It is very comforting to know that there is someone out there that just really gets me. No matter what I tell her she’s not going to judge or criticize.

Our birthdays are only 4 days apart and our sons’ birthdays are only 6 days apart. Although we have lived many miles apart for 20 of the 22 years we’ve been friends we still seem to think alike in so many ways. In fact we can’t play Scattergories or Outburst against each other because we come up with the same answers way too often.

Her family “adopted” me and my family as well. Even when Debi and her family can’t make it home for Christmas we have a Christmas party with her parents and the rest of the family here.

This year Christmas was at our house. Her family and mine.

About 12 years ago I flew out to where she lives one summer and we took a road trip back here. We visited New Orleans and then came home so she could visit her family here. Then we drove back through Nashville and I flew home. She wasn’t married at the time and I was married with two girls in grade school. It was great fun to get to be wild and carefree again with my best friend. Man, we need to do that again!

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Life's A Journey Series and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Life’s a Journey’ Family Stories – Bestest Friends

  1. What a fab photo of you jumping!!!! You’re on a roll now with these Posts!!!
    It’s weddings this week, so I hope you can catch up!!!!!

    Helen.

Leave a Reply

