Amanuensis Monday – Ann Tracy Watt letter

I have tried to transcribe this as written.  The paper is old and writing is faded.   I believe this letter was written to my Great Great Grandmother Maria Artlysia (Aunt Lissa) who was Ann’s sister in law, married to Ann’s brother John Edward.  She speaks of Isaiah who could have been her nephew or her son as both women had an Isaiah.  Rachel was Lissa’s daughter.  Billy was William Tracy, Ann’s brother.  B.N. was Benjamin Nicholas Watt, her son, I believe.  I don’t know who Aunt Jane refers to.  She had a daughter named Mary Jane but she died in 1895 from the information I have found.

Mary Artlysia Boblett Tracy

Mary Artlysia Boblett Tracy

“Armington Oct 31, 1904

Dear sister I will write you a few lines and see if I can hear from you and Isaiahs I have wrote to them twice since I got a letter from them I don’t know why they don’t I am anxious to hear we haven’t had a word from them for six weeks at least I don’t remember when I did get I can’t write much I have a pain my back that bothers me a good deal I had a right smart atack of jaunders last week not so bad as I have been just enough to know I had it.  Aunt Jane is gone to her daughters to Bellflower where is Rachel if she is there tell her I think she has forgot her Aunt Ann I have been looking for a letter from her for sometimes I got a letter from you soon after you went home and I cant remember whether I answered or not I am getting very forgetful poore old woman no wonder so much to think about. Brother Billy poore dear old man he is so porely he cant hardly write to me any more his daughters writes to me now tells me how he is geting along I am about as well as usual

Ann Dilworth Tracy Watt

Ann Dilworth Tracy Watt

except my back and all the rest of our relations as far as I know. B.N. was to visit us four weeks ago I went over to franks two weeks ago and stayed four days I should of stayed longer but was still in the barn I went round among their children I hadent been there since last march now aunt lissa I want to hear from you and yours and from Isaiah particular about you and many as you are both cripples I hope you are both better or well my regards to all every one.

Aunt Ann”

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Gotcher Family Research and Stories, Tracy Family Research and Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Amanuensis Monday – Ann Tracy Watt letter

  1. Elizabeth Thomas says:

    Very cool, love to read this old letters!

  2. Jeanette Tracy Kahl says:

    You are amazing – your dedication to our ancestry – thank you so much. All your writings and postings are so fascinating.

Leave a Reply

