Tombstone Tuesday – Where will I be laid to rest?

Cemetery in Iowa where my maternal family is buried.

Cemetery in Iowa where my maternal family is buried.

As a genealogist, death doesn’t bother me.  The dying part does, but not death.  I love wandering around cemeteries. And I spend time thinking about the problem of where I will be laid to rest.  As a Christian I realize that only my bones will actually be in a grave but still I want my place of rest to be in a pastoral field where living loved ones and descendants will visit and remember me.  The problem I have is that my paternal ancestors are buried in a nice little church cemetery in York County, Nebraska while my maternal ancestors are buried in a pretty cemetery in Iowa.  My husband was born in Fresno, California but his relatives are spread out all over the U.S.  We live in Oklahoma with no real family connections.  My husband is one of those that doesn’t really care – he would even go for cremation I think. But I want to be remembered and visited by my descendants.  I wonder if other people my age every wonder about this?

My great grandma and grandpa McConaughy's Tombstone

My great grandma and grandpa McConaughy’s Tombstone

Anyway, for this Tombstone Tuesday I am sharing pictures of the cemetery in Jones County, Iowa where my McConaughy and Siefken Great Grandparents(maternal line) are buried.  It is a beautiful cemetery on a rolling hill, very peaceful and well kept.

My great grandpa and grandma Siefken's Tombstone

My great grandpa and grandma Siefken’s Tombstone

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in McConaughy Research and Stories, Siefken Family Research and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

