Surname Saturday – Rusler

Michael and Augusta Rusler Children

Michael and Augusta Rusler Children

I have been working on the Rusler branch of my family for awhile now.  Thursday I wrote about Frank E Rusler and today I am going to attempt to write what little I know about Charles August Rusler.

Charles August Rusler

Charles August Rusler

Charles was the third child of Michael Anthony and Augusta Wilhemina Rusler.  He was born February 21, 1879 in York County, Nebraska.

He married Laura Ellice McConnell July 17, 1901.  They quickly had five children: Winnifred Gladys (1902), Grace “Goldie” (1904), Garland Lynn (1906), Lucille Virginia (1907),  and Zelma Ellice (1909).  In the 1910 Census the family is living in York County and Charles is a farmer.

Charles and Laura Rusler

Charles and Laura Rusler

Charles and Laura Ellice divorced in 1911.  By 1920, Charles has remarried; a Grace O who is 17 years his junior.  At this time they are living in Grand Island and he is a laborer at Kelley Wells (& something unintelligible).  There is also a 9 year old stepson living with them.  Laura Ellice has remarried as well to a Phillip Conant and they live in Thayer with one of his children and her five.

Charles August Rusler died just three years later on February 9, 1923 at the age of 43 in Ravenna, Buffalo, Nebraska and is buried at Council Cemetery in York County, Nebraska.  Thanks to another researcher, Cindy Dodd, who sent me a newspaper clipping about his death I now know the horrific details of his death.      While “working with a bridge gang on Beaver Creek he slipped on the ice and fell directly across a piling just as the 7,500 pound hammer descended.  It caught him across the body and death was instantaneous.  Eight fellow employees witnessed the fatal accident.”  Gruesome indeed.

Laura Ellice McConnell Rusler Conant died September 25, 1963 in Glendale, California at the age of 80.

Their five children grew up, married and gave Laura 24 grandchildren and scads of great grandchildren.  Many of whom I have had the pleasure to meet and keep in contact with via facebook.

Three of Charles and Laura's five children

Three of Charles and Laura’s five children

WWI Draft Registration for Charles August Rusler

WWI Draft Registration for Charles August Rusler

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in Rusler, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surname Saturday – Rusler

  1. Donna Witte says:

    Rosanna, In 1911 after my grandmother left Chalres Rusler she moved to York, NE and my father, Garland Rusler, went to  live with his aunt and her family….the Tracy family.  The three older children lived with relatives for many years.  I think his aunt is your great grandmother.  He was enrolled in school as Enoch Tracy and I think he left school around the age of 13.  I went to a reunion in York, I think it was the first Tracy-Rusler reunion, and talked to a woman that said her mother talked about him living with them.  She said her mother told her that when Charlie would come to the farm for my dad they would hide him in a corn crib or silo until Charlie left.  My dad spoke often of living with his aunt and was happy there.  I don’t know that he had much if any contact with his father after he was 5 years old.  Do you have any idea how I could find information on the York County school records to find his school records? Donna Rusler Witte

    ________________________________

    • Rosanna Ward says:

      Thank you Donna for the extra information. As for School records in York…the York Historical Society has quite a bit of old school information. I found a bunch for my Grandma Mabel Tracy Gotcher there last time I was up there. This website has contact information for queries. http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~neycha/contact.htm. The lady there is very nice and helpful but I believe she is a volunteer so it may take time to get information back. If you are near York it is faster and more interesting to visit. I was at the first reunion and met several Rusler’s. It was great fun! My sister and our families tented there on the fairgrounds. Thanks for the info about his other name – I will have to search with that and see what I can find.

  2. Rosanna Ward says:

    Thank you Donna for the extra information. As for School records in York…the York Historical Society has quite a bit of old school information. I found a bunch for my Grandma Mabel Tracy Gotcher there last time I was up there. This website has contact information for queries. http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~neycha/contact.htm. The lady there is very nice and helpful but I believe she is a volunteer so it may take time to get information back. If you are near York it is faster and more interesting to visit. I was at the first reunion and met several Rusler’s. It was great fun! My sister and our families tented there on the fairgrounds. Thanks for the info about his other name – I will have to search with that and see what I can find.

Leave a Reply

