Those Places Thursday – K+J Hardware Store

K&J Hardware (Grandma Jean in front)

K&J Hardware (Grandma Jean in front)

My maternal grandparents owned a small hardware store in a very small town in the 1970s.  In fact, the hardware store was really a general store.  I remember every time we came to visit grandma and grandpa if we arrived during the day we always stopped at the store first and Grandma always let us have a soda and/or some candy.  I have fond memories of that store. Of

Inside the store with grandma in the 1970s.

Inside the store with grandma in the 1970s.

course if we missed going to the store we always knew Grandma had popsicles in the freezer.

One of the reasons I have fond memories of that building is that after the store closed we lived in it for a year, 1980.  My grandparents still owned the building and our family moved from Tulsa, Oklahoma to Morley, Iowa for a year.  We lived in the upstairs apartment and used the downstairs as a music room, storage room, and play room.  That was one of the best years of my childhood.  I still tell people I would love to live in Iowa.  I realize now that I am adult I loved it there mostly because my grandparents lived nearby along with a bunch of other family.  The town only had 3 parallel streets, a couple churches, an old school gym

The building 2009 (Liz and I in front)

The building 2009 (Liz and I in front)

and playground, a post office, firestation, and library.  When I say small I mean very small.  But I loved living in that town.  We had freedom to roam and roam we did.  Both churches in town had outhouses and we used those whenever we had to go when we were playing outside.  The library was right next door to our house, it was only open a couple days a week and I loved hanging out there. Best of all grandma’s house was a straight shot up the street (and I mean up – uphill that is).  My brother and I used to walk/ride our bikes up to grandma’s all the time.  Man, that was a great year!

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted wife of 20 years and mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 8-year-old son and her youngest son is a toddler. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eight years. Her mission at Tulsa Homeschool Happenings is to provide a “one-stop” local community hub online that will help homeschooling families in our area fulfill their individual missions while connecting with the greater homeschooling community.
This entry was posted in McConaughy Research and Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Those Places Thursday – K+J Hardware Store

  1. Kathy says:

    I’ve enjoyed “poking around” your blog today! I spent my early years in small Iowa towns close to my grandparents and think of those days with fondness.

Leave a Reply

