Losing Landmarks

3077546905_7839297aef The Camelot at the highway exit near my home growing up; The church I got married in as well as the hotel we spent our first night in as a married couple; The farmhouse of my paternal grandparents that had been built by my great grandpa in 1904; The farmhouse of my maternal grandparents that I had so many great memories of; The first restaurant I worked at, the Sonic I carhopped at and the sports cafe I worked at when I was dating Jason.

I’m losing the landmarks of my youth.  When I drive around the town that I grew up in I am more surprised that something is still there than I am when something else disappears.

The Camelot was a Tulsa Landmark hotel built in 1965 that was demolished a couple of years ago to widen the highway.

New Life Center at 41st and Harvard where we were married in 1992 is now a funeral home and the Holiday Inn Express on Skelly drive where we spent our first night on our honeymoon was another victim of the highway widening.

gotcher farm from air

When my Grandma Gotcher died in ’98 the farm that had been in her family for over 100 years was sold and soon after the farmhouse built in 1904 “accidentally” burned down.  In fact if you drive by the old property now you would never know there was a homestead there for so long.

McConaughy FarmhouseI have so many great memories of times spent with my grandparents and cousins at my Maternal Grandparents farmhouse.  Sadly it burned down a couple of years ago.   My cousins were living there at the time and luckily no one was hurt – including the dog who miraculously lived through the fire…swimming in the basement.  They call him the miracle dog now.

When I was 17 I started my first waitressing job at the local restaurant at 51st and Peoria, Po Folks.  So many great memories working there and growing into an adult but it is has been gone for a long time.  As well as the local Sonic I carhopped at the next year.  And recently the Sports Cafe I worked at when I was dating Jason was demolished.  It hadn’t been a sports cafe for a long time but every time I drove by I would remember the fun times when I worked there.

And I guess that is what bothers me.  I love driving around the town I have lived in most of my life and remembering the fun times I’ve had.  I tell myself all the cliches – “This is the price of progress”, “Nothing lasts forever”, “Time goes on” yada, yada, yada.    I get it but it still makes me sad.

So as part of my new 2015 resolutions I am resolving to rediscover my town…Tulsa!  I will discover new places and make new memories.

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 11 and 6 year old sons. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eleven years. Rosanna has loved family history for as long as she can remember and love genealogy for the stories of her ancestors.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Losing Landmarks

  1. Peggy Blodgett says:

    Several years ago I was using Google salalite maps to see the house my mother grew up in in Milton, Wisconsin. They kept directing my search to an industrial area. I kept thinking they got my address wrong. I did give in to the idea the house was no longer there. sad face.

Leave a Reply

