Genealogy Organization and the Big Move ~ Motivation Monday

We sold our House!!!  Which is great.  But I didn’t realize how much genealogy stuff I had accumulated until I started boxing it up to move.  Wow!  And I have some big decisions to make.  So here is the deal.

We have decided that, at least for now, we are not going to get internet or cable at our house in the woods.  Currently my office houses the business office, the homeschool, personal office, and genealogy stuff.  I am moving the business office and homeschool to the little house we own right next to our donut shop in town which does have internet.  We built a small office at our house in the woods and I planned to move my genealogy stuff there and decorate it the way I want for Family History.  But that will mean keeping my current research on my laptop so I can access the internet when I am in town.  I know many people still do this – they don’t have internet at home so they use the library – but I haven’t had to research this way since dial up days.  Some days I think maybe I should just keep all of my genealogy stuff in town.

The other thing that must be done but which frustrates me into giving up every time I work with it is that I must re-install family tree maker on my laptop and sync with ancestry so I can work with my research at home.  My tree is so large and has so much media that it locks up my computer every time I try to sync so I may have to, heaven forbid, start over – or lose the pictures which took me months to upload.

I am looking forward to having more time to work on genealogy after the move and I am open to suggestions and advice during this transition.

About Rosanna Ward

Rosanna is a devoted mother of four children, two of which are homeschool graduates. She currently homeschools her 11 and 6 year old sons. Rosanna is a homeschool graduate and a graduate of Oral Roberts University: She grew up in Tulsa and has been homeschooling here for the past eleven years. Rosanna has loved family history for as long as she can remember and love genealogy for the stories of her ancestors.
This entry was posted in Organization and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Genealogy Organization and the Big Move ~ Motivation Monday

  1. Jackie Alleman says:

    How can I support you. I don’t want you to waste your time re-inputting info when you can be discovering and writing stories. What can I do to help? Jackie Alleman

    Date: Mon, 6 Apr 2015 23:59:14 +0000 To: jalleman6@hotmail.com

  2. Hi Rosanna,
    I bungles over your web site while looking at Irish Surnames. It’s terrific. My name is Randolph Tracy. My branch traveled the Wisconsin territorial Trail in about 1840 from New York. They settled in Farmington Wisconsin. That was GG Hiram & Elizabeth Tracy (buried Hillsborough WI), then my Great Grandpa Charles Henry & Eleanor Tracy (buried Hillsborough, WI). Then my Grandfather Thomas & IreneTracy Buried Wonewoc, WI).

    Yep there all central, western Wisconsin people from 1840 on. I have to wonder about our roots and if our great Grandfathers may have been relatives. One family member was guessing when he stated he thought the family got their start in Connecticut.

    Any Idea out there:-))

    • Rosanna Ward says:

      My branch of Tracey’s immigrated to America in the mid 1650s to the Baltimore, Maryland area as indentured servants. There is another Tracey family that started out in Connecticut – no relationship has been found as of yet. I had my cousin take the YDna test for the Tracey Male line and because of a rare gene mutation on the line he only had 7 matches – which was actually great because it helped confirm our Tracey line to the Baltimore Tracey’s. It also matched us to Tracey’s in Northeast Ireland and West England right across from each other. I don’t know very much about the Connecticut Tracey’s and where they came from. Our Tracey immigrant was Teague Tracey and the name changed to Tracy when Joshua Tracy moved to Ohio in the mid 1800s. There are several Tracey websites with better information on early American Traceys’. Good Luck.
      Rosanna

Leave a Reply

